I have been experimenting a bit with my cardio.

Cardio. I hate that word.  Reminds me of sweating, running out of breath and doing something repetitively.

I just don’t like jogging, getting on an elliptical machine or some other activity that makes me feel like a hamster on a wheel.  I like to do things that are fun.

That’s why I have switched to something different when I do my cardio workouts.

Instead of doing regular cardio I’m doing plyometric circuits.

Cardio For Athletes

I decided to do some research on what athletes use to help with their training.

If you thought their training consists of running miles a day or getting on a bicycle for an hour it is rarely the case.

Unless the athlete is a long distance competitor like marathon runners, cross country sports or others which require stamina, it is rarely if ever the case.  You won’t see a football player, baseball player, or sprinter doing long running.

Athletes like the ones I mention above train by using plyometrics.  Plyometrics help them increase fast twitch muscle fibers, athletic looking muscle and burn fat by doing short activity.

That is why I became interested in training differently.  I wanted to do cardio like an athlete.

(The video by Brad Gouthro shows a challenging yet very effective plyometric workout)

Plyometric Training

Plyometrics are done as a series of drills or circuits where one exercise follows the next with little rest in between.  The exercises  chosen are done in short bursts and require little if any equimpment.

Here is one of my favorite drills:

  • Jumping Jacks
  • Power Jumps
  • Push Ups
  • Hurdle Jumps
  • Mountain Climbers

Each exercise will be performed for 30 seconds of activity and 15 seconds of rest in between.

I like to do this drill and then stop for one minute and repeat.

This is then repeated a total of 3 to 5 times although it will be a challenge to repeat a maximum of 5 times in the beginning.

As you get used to these types of drills you will be able to do more sets.  Simply do what you can.

I won’t lie and tell you that it is easy.  But I will say it is way more fun than doing other types of cardio.

I like to use plyometrics after some strength training.  As a finisher this will give you great results, especially if you want to burn some  fat.

